top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Equestrian Blogger

Come Ride with Me! This is Episode 3 of many. Practise makes improvement. Enjoy!

Come Riding with me! Episode 3


Welcome to one of my series of blogs. This is where I share my highs and lows of riding from past and present experiences. I am using this to document my journey as well as show that not everything is always picture perfect.


I had a rocky lesson on Sunday 16th October 2022. I had my usual instructor who I have been riding with for almost a year regularly now. I rode Blue, who was the pony I had in my last “Come Riding with Me”


It stared off on a little bit of a slow one and we were very backwards but after some pushing forward, we started to get places quicker.


Today’s episode isn’t the normal style of “Come Riding with Me” and although I had a good lesson looking at my jump position of some walk, trot and canter poles placed at E and B with the ambition of starting to raise those poles of the ground in my next lesson, I struggled with my mindset in the way that it didn’t look perfect first time.


Now, obviously, we all know when you do something first time you aren’t suddenly a wizard at it but I really was struggling with the fact that what I was doing didn’t look perfect when I felt that it should have and I now, have come to the conclusion that this is all me spending a little too much time looking at some amazing riders only sharing the highs and best bits of their entire training sessions with their horses and presenting only the beautiful and not the ugly.



However, recently, this has become a huge topic with people starting to show the ugly and be real with the rest of the world. Now when I think about this subject one eye opening quote from Les Brown is:


"Practise and practise and practise, practise makes what?"

"Perfect!"

"Absolutely not, dismantle that belief system. Practise makes improvement. You can always better your best, you can always go beyond anything you've ever done. You'll never hit a state of perfection. You're always bigger than what you do. And so all you're looking for are new breakthroughs through practise and practise and practise, you'll get better and better and better."

Now that is something that has stuck with me and will be transferred into my next riding lesson. Practise doesn’t make perfect but what it does make is improvement and as long as I improve on just one thing, that is something that I should be happy about and celebrate.


This is just a friendly reminder that people as a whole need to stop modelling the good stuff and embrace the ugly as well as sharing it all. It effects everyone at some stage and that is one of the cons to social media, a lot of the time it’s all fake.


I hope you liked this. It was quite short and sweet but necessary. Please like it if you did and comment if you found it useful. Subscribe since it is free. Follow my Instagram for regular notifications since I am active on their daily so that you never miss a new blog upload. Send any blog suggestions to: admin@theequestrianblogger.co.uk. Stick around for the next one…


Bye


The Equestrian Blogger


Instagram: @the.equestrian.blogger


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page