top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Equestrian Blogger

My Horse Riding Ambition.

Updated: Aug 2, 2022


My Horse Riding Ambition


I love all the disciplines in the equestrian industry. From carriage driving, showing, pony club and mounted games, eventing, dressage, show jumping and more! From top level athletes to amateur riders’ vlogs on YouTube.


Ever since I started loving horses, watching dressage on the TV as always interested me. I always knew if I ever continued riding for the hopefully rest of my life after my first riding lesson at a local equestrian facility, the discipline I wanted to practise/ learn was dressage.


Now why dressage? The driving force of dressage for me is following Charlotte Dujardin. I remember being a child and watching through the screens her riding Valegro and me being amazed! At that time, I was scared of horses up close since I have never been exposed to them and I don’t come from a ‘horsey background’ with any ‘horsey parents.’



In November 2021, I was lucky enough to meet her and Carl Hester and watch their demo’s together with Florence and some of their other young horses. I had the tickets as a birthday present and I also watched some cool show jumping and para riders too!


This definitely set in stone, that I would one day be riding, and training dressage and so I began to learn more about it. I personally love watching all the eventing and show jumping action as well, but I think personally it’s not for me. Times may change though.


I remember telling my riding instructor about my experience and she began teaching me all the moves and also was keen to move me onto a bigger mare which I could do more of the dressagey stuff together with. I still ride the mare regularly today!


I just wanted to let you know this as a lot of the blogs I will write in the future are going to be coming from a dressage rider’s point of view on the industry. I do follow more eventing than anything else also so there will be some of that too!


Follow along for the History of equestrian disciplines which will be coming soon! If you liked this and want me to do more in depth factual blogs, don’t forget to follow my Instagram and subscribe to keep up with every episode as well as email me some suggestions to things you want to know at admin@theequestrianblogger.co.uk or leave me a line down below.


Thanks for reading.


Bye for now!


The Equestrian Blogger


Instagram: @the.equestrian.blogger


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page